It’s the first day of school. After such a long summer holiday, there’s just a lot of inertia to get back to work. I’m glad I got myself to prepare the materials early because I took almost a week to finish the slides for one chapter. Honestly, I am very nervous about taking this new Chemistry class. Last year, I fell back a lot on my Singapore-secondary-school teaching techniques which I thought didn’t work well for the Swedish students. These students are older and have been through the Swedish education system which is different from that of Singapore. I have been thinking about how I should change my teaching style and this is where it becomes very challenging. But I really appreciate this teaching opportunity which is ‘pushing’ me to re-evaluate my teaching techniques.

